Ample Land

The clamour at night wakes me up,
when I am amidst beautiful dreams,
I find myself growing indifferent,
when I hear distant cries and screams.

The rising sun and the chirping birds,
these things they do not start my day,
It begins, believe me you when I confess,
with the news of someone passing away.

This war has stolen my friends from me,
it has bound me in an unbreakable chain,
People in power, this intelligent lot,
they break my hopes with concern they feign.

I ask neither for riches nor any help,
what I need is something quite small,
All I yearn is to wake up one day,
and see this land being ample for all.

 

PC: https://pixabay.com/en/war-reenactment-battle-soldiers-1822769/

Leave a Reply

